Education awards nominees unveiled

May 01, 2013

The Carlsbad Chamber of Commerce, the Partners in Education Foundation and Carlsbad Education Foundation have announced the nominees for the Outstanding Educational Program, an annual awards ceremony in which the business community celebrates the best and brightest academic programs in Carlsbad schools.

The ceremony, titled “Toast a Teacher,” will be held at 6 p.m. on Friday, May 17 at the La Costa Resort and Spa.

Awards are given out in four categories: The Arts, Entrepreneurial Program, Innovative Program and Science Program.

For more information about the awards, visit

The 2013 Outstanding Educational Program Awards nominees are:

• Aviara Oaks Middle School: Spring Musical Program

Lead teacher: Megan Arias
• Buena Vista Elementary School:
Art Week
Lead teacher: Mary Northridge
• Calavera Hills Middle School:
The Bully Plays
Lead teachers: Judi Stapleton
and Teanna Evans


• Calavera Hills Elementary School:
The Business of Teaching
Lead teacher: Michelle Ward
• Calavera Hills Middle School:
Math Madness, Inc.
Lead teacher: Kirk VanWagoner
• La Costa Heights Elementary School: Mission to Innovate
Lead teachers: Michelle Giaquinto, Victor Flake,
Wendy Bram and Chris Noonan
• Poinsettia Elementary:
Paws on News Broadcasting Team
Lead teachers: Brooke Williamson and Nick Covino

• Aviara Oaks Middle School:
Questions Lab 2.0
Lead teacher: Ron Lewis Cordell
• Carlsbad High School:
Champion Lancers
Lead teacher: Rosemary Eshelman
• El Camino Creek Elementary School:
Twenty First Century Classroom
Lead teacher: Linda Cohen
• Hope Elementary School:
Flat Stanley Goes Global
Lead teacher: Syndi Lyon
• Jefferson Elementary School:
World Language Program
Lead Teacher: Laurel Ferreira
• Kelly Elementary School:
Lead teachers: Cindy Nichols, Joan Bray,
Tracy Marks and Debby Stone.
• La Costa Heights Elementary School:
Lead teacher: Diane Low
• Olivenhain Pioneer Elementary School:
Kid Akademy
Lead teacher: Jeanne Benowitz
• Pacific Rim Elementary School:
Mentor Program
Lead teacher: Ann Uber
• Valley Middle School:
WEB Where Everybody Goes
Lead teachers: Jennifer Cockerham,
Linda Payne and Aida Salah

• Jefferson Elementary School:
Future Visionaries: Eye Discovery Lab
Lead teachers: Shelley Thomas, Kate Alva,
Amy Jensen, Rae Merritt and Karen Stencil
• Kelly Elementary School:
“Paw Pads” Pawpurrazzi
Lead teachers: Debby Stone, Joan Bray,
Lorelei Kelleher, Tracy Marks and Cindy Nichols

Carlsbad Desalination Plant Construction Updates Sheraton Carlsbad Palomar Airport Tri-City Medical LL Printers The Crossings at Carlsbad